Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame

Class of 2017

Three members of one of the ARCA stock car racing series most prolific winning families, one of the NASCAR Xfinity Series most successful car owners and a drag racing world champion headline the 2017 class of the Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame.

The tenth class will be enshrined during a ceremony in November at the Speedzeum, inside the Owensboro Science and History Museum on Saturday November 4, 2017.

This year’s honorees include the Kimmel family of Portland and Louisville, Clarence Brewer of Central City, Noel Davis of Burnside, Dave Huber of Shively, Calhoun native Bob Kamp and Spivey Williams of Bowling Green.

The Kimmel family, led by patriarch Bill Kimmel Sr., his sons Bill Kimmel Jr., and Frank Kimmel have made a lasting impact on motorsports, shining brightest in the spotlight of the Automobile Racing Club of America. Bill Sr., raced to more than 500 feature wins and 12 track championships across Kentucky, the Midwest and eastern U.S., including three victories on the touring ARCA circuit.

Bill Jr., began as a mechanic working on his father’s cars but slid behind the wheel to win four consecutive Late Model championships at Louisville Motor Speedway from 1995 through 1998. He retired to become crew chief for his brother Frank and that’s when the winning really began.

Frank Kimmel captured 10 ARCA touring series championships between 1998 and 2013, including a remarkable 8 in a row from 2000 to 2007. Along the way he amassed 80 victories – the most in series history – and 43 pole positions.

Inductee Clarence Brewer never turned a lap in a NASCAR race but cars he fielded through his Brewco Motorsports gained 10 series victories, 11 poles and 161 top-ten finishes in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Many prominent drivers filled the seats of Brewer’s cars, with wins earned by former series champion David Green of Owensboro, premier series regulars Greg Biffle and Jamie McMurray.

Another prime addition to this year’s class is Noel Davis, a long-time drag racer, 1995 International Hot Rod Association Super Stock world champion and winner of five IHRA national events in Alabama, Indiana, Ohio and Bristol, Tennessee. Davis also previously promoted U.S. 60 Dragway in Hardinsburg.

• Dave Huber, a long-time drag racer, car builder, street rodder and event official. Huber drag raced in the 1970s, fielding powerful dragsters to wins and record performances at major events across the U.S. He became active in the growing street rod hobby and headed the National Street Rod Association’s Kentucky safety team. He remained an inspector until retiring in 2013. He still shows his fully restored classic dragsters which have earned national attention. He is actively involved in the Hall of Fame.

• Bob Kamp, is a retired drag racer who turned his affinity for speed into one of the most successful high-performance parts businesses in motorsports. Kamp’s success behind the wheel of a series of sportsman class race cars translated into K-Motion Racing, which he formed in 1972. K-Motion is the industry leader in engine valve springs – a vital component to make horsepower – and the choice of performance engine builders.

• Spivey Williams, is currently best known as a talk show host at Event Radio Live, covering racing and motorsports events across the state. It’s a familiar topic for Williams, who formerly ran Race World, a racing-themed entertainment business, fielded a series of Funny Cars on the IHRA and NHRA circuits.

This year’s ceremony will present its second Visionary Award to Bob Davis and P.O. Brown of Harned, who founded the Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame to recognize the contributions of Kentuckians in all forms of motorsports.

The Pioneer Award will go to Don Roberts of Owensboro, a noted racer in his era and the founder and builder of Kentucky Motor Speedway. The quarter-mile paved Whitesville oval was established in 1960 and continues operating to this day. It was here that former NASCAR champion Darrell Waltrip began his career.

Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame

2017 Inductees

CLARENCE BREWER-Central City-Nascar Team Owner

P.O.BROWN-Smithfield, VA-Visionary Award-Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame Co-Founder

BOBBY DAVIS-Livermore, Visionary Award-Kentucky Motorsports Hall of Fame Co-Founder

NOEL DAVIS-Burnside-Drag Racer

DAVE HUBER-Pleasure Ridge Park-Drag Racer, Street Rodder

BOB KAMP-Calhoun-Drag Racer

BILL KIMMEL SR-Louisville-ARCA Driver

BILL KIMMEL JR-Louisville-ARCA Driver

FRANK KIMMEL-Louisville-ARCA Driver

DON ROBERTS-Owensboro-Track Operator

SPIVEY WILLIAMS-Bowling Green-Drag Racer &  Radio Broadcaster

Website Builder